LIVING

With EoE, Allergies, Asthma and a G-Tube

Making Friends, Accepting Differences

Being different is something I’ve always explained to my kids. Even before we were different. I’ve not only spoke to them about being different, but also about accepting differences.

In fact, when I spoke to Tinleigh’s kindergarten class about her allergies and feeding tube I used the words “being different, and it’s okay” as the main point.

So when I was told a story about Tinleigh asking the school nurse “What’s wrong with her?” I about fell over.

As you read in my last post, Tinleigh spends a lot of time in the nurses office. She gets to meet a lot of the kids at school. One day a little girl in a motorized wheel chair came in. Right in front of her Tinleigh says “What’s wrong with her?”. The nurse quickly shushed Tinleigh and said “Tinleigh, how would you feel if someone came in and asked me what was wrong with you?”. Tinleigh cupped her hands over her mouth and had an “oh my gosh what did I just say moment”. The nurse then introduced the other little girl to Tinleigh and asked the other little girl if she could explain to Tinleigh why she was in a wheel chair. Being non-verbal the other little girl shook her heard yes and smiled intently. The nurse explained to Tinleigh this special little girl isn’t able to walk or talk, but she understands everything people are saying around her. Her motorized chair helps her get around and she has a computer on her chair that helps her communicate. Once the nurse was done explaining to Tinleigh about the little girl Tinleigh stepped up to her, lifted her own shirt showing her, her feeing tube and said “This is what makes me special.”. The little girl held her hand out, Tinleigh placed her hand in hers and the two girls just smiled at each other. Instant friendship.

OH MY HEART!

I wish I would have been there to witness this moment. I was concerned at the start of this story that Tinleigh had forgotten she’s a little different as well. I don’t think Tinleigh intended to sound so rude, I think she was just more curious and didn’t know the correct way to ask. I am glad Tinleigh shared her something special.

I am so sorry to this little girl and her parents that Tinleigh was rude.

I am forever thankful for the nurse correcting Tinleigh and allowing those two little girls to have a moment.

The girls will continue to bump into each other in the nurses office throughout the year. I hope their bond grows stronger.10418453_10206402281322733_6302818484168056288_n

September 24, 2017 Posted by | daily life, LIVING, Tinleigh's allergies | , , , | Leave a comment

   

