LIVING

With EoE, Allergies, Asthma and a G-Tube

Living

20170814_072418I sent her off into the hands of strangers for 7 hours. Around food, airborne smells and dirty little hands everywhere. She came home to me and said “Mom, do you know what I got today at school? I got a smile.” She was grinning ear to ear because school made her SO happy. She loves it.

Coming to the decision of whether or not to send her has not been easy. How could I send this little girl into a school with so many dangerous allergens surrounding her? I didn’t have as hard of a time with Charlie or Gage because they’re not as allergic as Tinliegh is. Even before we left Ohio for the summer Tinleigh had one last airborne reaction to grilled steak brought into the house.

I have prayed a lot about this decision. God and I have a pretty strong bond. He’s always showing me signs of what to do. He always provides for us when I think we’re at the end of the line. I never have to look too hard, He always guides me.

We stayed in Ohio for the summer at my parents farm. My parents are surrounded by Amish. Near the end of our visit I heard an Amish lady’s buggy struck by a car. I was first to the scene and sat with the Amish lady in a grassy ditch and bean field until help arrived. I’ve done a lot with my kids and had to be brave for them MANY times. This time I had to be brave for someone I didn’t know. When I approached the scene all I could see was buggy parts scattered everywhere. I had to stand there and seriously search for her body. Before I took a step down into the ditch I realized she was right there at my feet. She was dressed all in black. Upon seeing her body just laying there a loud cry was building in my throat and at just that moment I took a deep breath and knew she needed me to be brave for her. I held my tears in and went to her. As I squatted down beside her I noticed grass was stuck to her face. She was bleeding from her nose and coughing up blood. I had never seen anything like this. I could feel such sadness inside me but kept it down and spoke to her that help was coming as I pulled the grass away from her bloody face. She would take a deep breath then a few shallow. I coached her on to keep taking those breaths and that help would arrive soon. I have never felt so helpless in a situation. I couldn’t do anything for her. She was unresponsive, didn’t open her eyes and wasn’t moving at all. Then, I began to pray over her. Words just poured out. I knew that if she could hear me, hearing me ask for God’s help, it may sooth her. Help came and I stepped back from the scene. Even though they life flighted her to the hospital, they were unable to help her.

What does this have to do with Tinleigh going to school? That moment, in the ditch, is one I can never forget. I sat and prayed over someone as they were taking their last breaths. Watching a life taken away. Just like that, in an instant. Life is fast. Since we came into all of these allergies and EoE 7 years ago, I have been teaching my kids that they can still live life to the fullest regardless of the dangers they face with life threatening allergies. If I were to keep Tinleigh at home that’s not living. That’s not what I’ve been teaching them. Tinleigh is so smart, social and craves new experiences. Why should I deprive her of all of that because she’s allergic? I am Tinleigh’s advocate and have spent everyday of her life doing that job. So what’s stopping me from being her advocate at school? I am so scared something will happen to her at school, so scared. How will she ever learn to be her own advocate if I keep her home forever. So I put on my mom boots, marched into her school and trained them on how to keep Tinleigh safe. We’ve learned a few things need to be tweaked. Overall though, it’s working. I know we’re going to have some bad days here and there. Tinleigh has bad allergies days when she’s home with me. It’s unavoidable.20170815_065429.jpg

In my heart, I know we’ve made the right decision. Tinleigh’s smile when I pick her up everyday tells me that. We will let Tinleigh live life to the fullest and do our best to continue to keep her safe in the real world.

She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future.

Proverbs 31:25

 

August 16, 2017 - Posted by | LIVING, Tinleigh's allergies | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I assume it was Mary that you were there for in that ditch that Sunday. Thank you for being there. She was a dear lady. I’m sure your prayers were a comfort to her as she passed into the arms of Jesus. I pray for protection over Tinleigh as she gets to live life to it’s fullest and that her allergies lessen as she grows.

    Like

    Comment by Suzie Criswell | August 17, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

