LIVING

With EoE, Allergies, Asthma and a G-Tube

BULL CAKE!

I can’t believe I forgot to post about Gage’s birthday cake. As you may have read Gage wanted a bull birthday, which included a real bull and a bull cake. We got him face to face with the real bull. http://livingtheallergylife.wordpress.com/2011/07/04/no-bull/

So I had to make a bull cake. If you’ve tried some of the allergy cake mixes you may know that some aren’t that great. Especially if you can’t add egg to make them fluffy. Luckily my sister-in-law had introduced us to cherry brook kitchen. http://www.cherrybrookkitchen.com/  I did some internet searching for a bull cake idea. I didn’t know if I should do a bull face, the whole body, do I try to shape the cake or just make a picture on a regular rectangle cake. A friend sent me a link of an awesome bull cake.  http://www.coolest-birthday-cakes.com/coolest-bucking-bull-cake-5.htm It was of a cowboy actually riding a bucking bull. This is it!

I got to work. I had to use two of the cake mixes to make two separate square 9″ cakes. I printed out the picture of the online cake. I cooled the cakes in the fridge over nite for easy cutting. The next afternoon I got to work. I cut out the picture of the cowboy on the bull and laid it in the middle of one of the squares. I then dipped a butter knife in water and sort of traced around the shape. The original cake had been done using fondant, which is pretty, but we don’t like the taste. So I used a can of plain white icing and some food coloring. When I make fancy cakes I don’t have all the special tools so I use toothpicks.  It took me an hour to get it all done but it turned out better than I had thought I could do. Gage thought it was the best cake ever!

July 14, 2011 - Posted by | Gage's allergies, LIVING, What's for dinner | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

